Cave of Adullam

3 09 2009
Scripture

Observations/Paraphrase

Application

Psalm 62 September 3, 2009

For Jeduthun, the choir director: A psalm of David.

1 I wait quietly before God,

for my victory comes from him.

2 He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my fortress where I will never be shaken.


3 So many enemies against one man—

all of them trying to kill me.

To them I’m just a broken-down wall

or a tottering fence.

4 They plan to topple me from my high position.

They delight in telling lies about me.

They praise me to my face

but curse me in their hearts.     Interlude


5 Let all that I am wait quietly before God,

for my hope is in him.

6 He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my fortress where I will not be shaken.

7 My victory and honor come from God alone.

He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.

8 O my people, trust in him at all times.

Pour out your heart to him,

for God is our refuge.     Interlude


9 Common people are as worthless as a puff of wind,

and the powerful are not what they appear to be.

If you weigh them on the scales,

together they are lighter than a breath of air.


10 Don’t make your living by extortion

or put your hope in stealing.

And if your wealth increases,

don’t make it the center of your life.


11 God has spoken plainly,

and I have heard it many times:

Power, O God, belongs to you;

12 unfailing love, O Lord, is yours.

Surely you repay all people

according to what they have done.



I wait quietly before God, for it is from Him that my victory comes.  He alone is my rock and my salvation – my fortress where I will never be shaken.


So many enemies against one man – all of them trying to kill me.  To them, I’m just a broken down wall, or a tottering fence.  They plan to topple me from my high position.  They delight in telling lies about me.  They praise me to my face, but curse me in their hearts.








Let all  that I am, wait quietly before God – for my hope is in Him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation.  My fortress where I will not be shaken.  My victory and honor come from God alone.  He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.


Oh people, trust in Him at all times.  Pour out your heart to Him – for God is our refuge.



Common people are as worthless as a puff of wind, and the powerful are not what they appear to be.  If you weigh them on the scales, together they are lighter than a breath of air.


Don’t make your living by extortion or put your hope in stealing.  If your wealth increases, don’t make it the center of your life.


God has spoken plainly and I have heard  it many times.  Power, oh God, belongs to you – unfailing love, oh Lord, is yours.  Surely you repay all people according to what they have done.

I have wanted to really get into Jeremiah’s story for about the last 9-10 months.  And it’s been longer than that where I have been asking the question, “Is there room for an Ezekiel, or a Jeremiah, in today’s church?”  The answer that comes back to me, through prayer, through others, and through outright common sense, is no – there is not room for a prophet that calls for repentance in today’s church.


And yet, I have felt led to push forward with this message.  I didn’t want to.  But, like Jeremiah, I had to.


Undoubtedly, I’ve been treated far better than most of the prophets in the Bible. [NOTE: I’m not saying I’m a prophet, but I do believe that I have been called to share a message – big difference.  I’m just using the word/label: prophet for comparison purposes]

Most of God’s messengers were killed, imprisoned, maimed, beaten, stoned, etc.  The only thing  that has happened to me is that I’ve lost my job – and any sense of security that has gone along with that.


Yesterday’s reading of Jeremiah 7 really rocked me.  Seeing the comparisons of todays secular and church cultures, to the times of Jeremiah, well it was scary really.


But today, after three surgeries in three weeks, a loss of income, finding nothing but job-seeking dead-ends – well, I am just spent.


Like David, my only strength is in God.


I do feel attacked on every level.


The move out here, was hard, then my wife got sick – few people either understood that, or were sympathetic.  As I focused on taking care of her, I let some tasks slide – but apparently that was unacceptable.


I feel as if I’ve been labeled a liar, a cheat, a thief.  I feel as if people have decided that I am evil.  I feel as if they seek to take revenge on me by denying reimbursements, withholding financial remunerations, and making me jump through hoops   which I neither have the time, the energy, or the will to do right now.


I’ve been scrambling to take care of medical issues, before we loose healthcare insurance.  I’ve been applying for work, networking, and seeking financial avenues.  I’ve been trying to work with our bank, the state, and other agencies as I seek to find a way out of this financial morass that we have being sucked into.


But in the meantime, it feels as if the very people who should be sympathetic to our issues, are putting more pressures on us to prove ourselves for every dime.  There appears to be little or no sympathy, no mercy, and definitely no charity.


I feel increasingly backed into a corner.  Beaten down.  Exhausted.  It is just really hard.  The Church, at this point in my life, definitely looks more like Jeremiah 7 then it does John 4.


Lord, you are my only strength.

Prayer

Today God – just for today.  I just couldn’t read anymore of Jeremiah.  I felt impressed, by You, yesterday, to just take some time in the Cave of Adullam – to rest, recharge, and renew.  That is hard for me to do right now God.  There are so many pressing issues.  So many priorities, and so many deadlines looming.  But like the text that Jennifer read yesterday, you have promised to take care of us – so, I am leaning on you today God – please take care of us.

I need to let go of those who consider me an enemy.  I need to let go of those who seek to do me harm.  My friend told me they would seek to murder me, if they found out what I really stood for.  He was right.  It has been really hard – very unexpected – and very damaging.  Please help us God – please help us.

G

Original

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

