Blessings and Curses

15 03 2009

Scripture:

Deuteronomy 29:14-15 “But you are not the only ones with whom I am making this covenant with its curses. 15 I am making this covenant both with you who stand here today in the presence of the Lord our God, and also with the future generations who are not standing here today.

Observations:

I see “tough love” in these two chapters of Deuteronomy. If we walk with God, we will be blessed.  If we don’t, He can’t bless us – in fact, He may actually have to bring curses on us.  But why?  Why would a loving God curse us?  Why would a loving God hurt us?  Why would a loving God allow us to experience pain, death, and destruction?

Applications:

Last week, I spanked my daughter.  She needed to be spanked.  She needed to be disciplined.  She needed to suffer some consequences for her actions.  Afterward, though I have no qualms about what I did, I hurt.  I grieved the loss of her innocence, late into the night.  It really did hurt me more than it hurt her.  But I hated doing it.  Hated it.

However, I would rather have her hurt now, than suffer when she is older and the consequences are greater.

I believe God shares these views with me – but to a greater extent.

Prayer:

Father God – please forgive me for doubting You and teach me to accept you for who You are.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

