Acceptance

22 02 2009

Scripture:

Numbers 10, 11

Psalm 27

A psalm of David.

1 The Lord is my light and my salvation—
so why should I be afraid?
The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger,
so why should I tremble?
2 When evil people come to devour me,
when my enemies and foes attack me,
they will stumble and fall.
3 Though a mighty army surrounds me,
my heart will not be afraid.
Even if I am attacked,
I will remain confident.

Observations:

There is a common theory dancing through the courts of Christian culture.  In an apparent rebellion of dysfunctional church hierarchies, we, the church, has moved to a more democratic structure.  While this certainly fits a progressive governmental process, it isn’t modeled in the Bible.

Last week, at a leadership gathering, one of the people asked, “Well,” he said, “Can’t God speak to us as well as He can to you?”

Now, there’s really no easy way to answer that question without coming across as arrogant, power-hungry, and maybe even dismissive.  But the fact of the matter is, God works through leaders to accomplish His purposes.  Sometimes these leaders are in official capacities (e.g. David as the King of Israel), and sometimes these leaders are “unofficial” (e.g. Jonathan when he and his armorbearer attacked the Philistines).  But one of my favorite examples of how an unofficial leader operates, in the face of the annointed leaders, is when David refused to attack Saul, when they were in the cave.

I have no doubt that God brought me to Columbia County to lead.  I have no doubt that I am imperfect, and I’ve made mistakes (for which I’ve repented and asked forgiveness).  But it is quite apparent to me that others don’t see this so clearly.  I don’t believe it is my place to correct them.

Applications:

I really relate to several of Moses’ laments in the above texts.  First, he asks God “why did he have to bear the burdens of these people?”  Then, he pleads with God to deal with these folks.  But, it isn’t until much later in Moses’ maturation process that he pleads with God to take him, in order to atone for the sins of the people.  I see this as the capstone of Moses’ spiritual growth.  This is where he begins to represent Jesus.

Until I can learn to absorb and deflect the complaints, attacks, and gossip of the people, I’m not their leader.  Until I can be willing to suffer for their sins, I am unable to stand in the gap for them.

Prayer:

Father God, continue to humble me, break me, and teach me.  Give me strength, courage, and hope.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

