Jacob Buys, Esau Sells

10 01 2009
SCRIPTURE:

Genesis 25:29 Once when Jacob was cooking some stew, Esau came in from the open country, famished. 30 He said to Jacob, “Quick, let me have some of that red stew! I’m famished!” (That is why he was also called Edom[g] )

 31 Jacob replied, “First sell me your birthright.”

 32 “Look, I am about to die,” Esau said. “What good is the birthright to me?”

 33 But Jacob said, “Swear to me first.” So he swore an oath to him, selling his birthright to Jacob.

 34 Then Jacob gave Esau some bread and some lentil stew. He ate and drank, and then got up and left. 
      So Esau despised his birthright.

 

OBSERVATIONS:

 

This story has always amazed me.  I don’t understand why the birthright was so important.  I don’t understand why Jacob thought he needed to have it and I don’t understand why Esau was so quick to sell it?  Was Esau hypoglycemic?  Was he going comatose?  What was the big deal?  

 

And then, to sell it under false pretenses and to later deceive Isaac?  What was he thinking?  OR was he?

 

Then… to live in fear of his brother for all that time?  Was it really worth it?

 

I’m trying to think of something equivalent today?  Would it be like me selling my XBox?  Would it be like selling my soul?  Is it like the man in the Middle east who sold his daughter to pay off debts?

 

I can’t think of anything.  Of course, I am the first born.  So I guess I already have that.  But my brother is more like my dad than me, so maybe he has it – genetically anyway.  I don’t get this.

 

Didn’t God have a plan?  Why do we always try to subvert God’s plan?  Why do we always – ALWAYS! take things into our own hands.

 

 

APPLICATIONS:

 

I remember being a teenage boy.  It was hard.  I had plans.  I had dreams.  I thought I was destined to do great things – not stoooopid things, mind you – but great things.  But, did I wait for God?    no.

 

So, now I’m all grown up – and different.  Um, yeah.  right.  

 

I get impatient.  I get stressed.  I get worried.  I don’t seem to be able to sit still and wait for God’s plans to manifest themselves.

 

I wonder how many times God has had to take me back to the starting point and go thru it again?  A LOT!

 

PRAYER:   

 

Father God.  I’m sorry.  I’m sorry for being an idiot.  I’m sorry for being impatient.  I’m sorry for not waiting for you.  I’m sorry for not walking with you – constantly.  Please forgive me.

 

Please Lord – help me to learn from Jacob.  Teach me to learn from Isaac – who was also stupid.  Help me to learn from Abraham – who started this whole mess of impatience and not waiting. and lying.

 

Teach me God – take my heart – teach me to be a better, more perfect reflector of your character.

 

Today.  I surrender to you.  Take my life and lift me into your pure and holy presence.  Where the rich current of your love can flow through my soul.

 

I love you too!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

