Keeping my Income While Sharing the Word

17 07 2008

Scripture:

Isaiah 29:13 And so the Lord says, “These people say they are mine. They honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.  And their worship of me is nothing but man-made rules learned by rote.

Isaiah 30:10-11 They tell the seers, “Stop seeing visions!” They tell the prophets, “Don’t tell us what is right. Tell us nice things. Tell us lies.  Forget all this gloom. Get off your narrow path. Stop telling us about your ‘Holy One of Israel.’”

Observations:

I find it fascinating that I responded to a forum post on our church’s website that said basically what Isaiah 29:13 says.  Now I don’t claim to be the smartest guy on the planet, but I seem to understand biblical principles.  This is a gift, not something I’ve conjured up from deep inside my soul.  Nope – but for some reason, God has seen fit to share some of these wise principles with me.

On the other hand (OTOH), I truly feel that people don’t want me to share these things.  It feels, at times, like people would rather just be told that everything is alright; just keep doing what you’re doing.  Everything’s fine.  However, I don’t believe that.

In fact, in the opening pages of the current campmeeting brochure, our administrative head writes about the wonderful and peaceful time of fellowship we’ve all come to share.

Hmmmm…. I thought we were an army.  I thought we were at war.  I thought this was supposed to be a call to arms.  I even have the audacity to believe that the time is coming to an end, for life as we know it, and now is the time to get our act together and get out of our lukewarm bath water.

Applications:

There is not much room for a modern Isaiah (or Jeremiah, or Ezekiel, or ….) in today’s church.  My superiors don’t really want me to rock the boat.

So, I feel called to lay low and preach the gospel with my life, my contacts, and everything about me.  In the meantime, I’ll do what it takes to keep my job.

Prayer:

Dear Father God, give me patience, wisdom, and vision.  Thanks, I love you too!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

