Beauty to Vile

8 07 2008

Scripture:

Hosea 13:13 but he is a child without wisdom;

Hosea 14:1 Return, O Israel, to the LORD your God.  Your sins have been your downfall!

Hosea 14:9 Who is wise? He will realize these things.  Who is discerning? He will understand them. The ways of the LORD are right; the righteous walk in them, but the rebellious stumble in them.

Psalm 101:3 I will set before my eyes no vile thing. The deeds of faithless men I hate; they will not cling to me.

Observations:

Wisdom is a fleeting trait, and we see few in this age seeking it.  I see men and women seeking knoweldge, but not necessarily wisdom.

Last Sunday, I stopped by Scappoose Bay Kayaking, in St. Helens, right on the bay.  As I looked around at their stuff, the person on duty, Kelly, and I struck up some conversation.  Somehow I mentioned that I had gone back to school after leaving my previous career.  That’s when she asked me a question that no one has ever asked:

“What did you learn?”

It was a good question.  It was a fair question.  It was a wise question.  It caught me off guard – most people don’t care.  I have been dwelling on that conversation all week (or at least for the last couple of days :))

David is repeating what Job had said to his accountability partners years ago: “I will set before my eyes no vile thing…”  That is easier said than done.  As sometimes the vile things are the most pleasing.  However, lately, I’ve found things that used to draw me in, but now they repulse me.  This is a good place to be.

Applications:

The closer I get to Jesus, the more I begin to see things like Him, think like he does, and behave like he does.  It is an amazing place to be – and is the source of many sights becoming repulsive to me.

Prayer:

Father God, please continue to draw me close to you!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

