Grace? What is it?

18 05 2008

Scripture:

1 King 3:3 Solomon showed his love for the LORD by walking according to the statutes of his father David, except that he offered sacrifices and burned incense on the high places. (emphasis mine)

Observations:

I continue to be amazed by two things:

  1. God’s leaders continually compromising God’s principles, sacrificing the great for the merely good.
  2. God’s acceptance of less than perfect leaders.

I don’t understand either of these things. The first, compromise, leads to less than ideal growth in the people being led; and the second, means that God has to continue to be patient in the revelation of His Kingdom – meanwhile the world (and millions of people) are dying around Him/us.

Application:

Why would I accept a less than great application of God’s principles in my own life? Why would God call me into leadership within His movement? Why does God tolerate the mediocrity and compromise within His church? I don’t know – and I don’t understand.

It is grace. What is grace?

Prayer:

Lord. What is grace.?Teach me to accept grace. Teach me to give grace. Teach me to be grace-filled. Teach me to be graceful. Teach me to be a grace giver. Teach me to always tell the truth while being graceful.

Thanks – I love you too!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

