Walking Away from My Vomit

17 12 2007

Scripture:
2 Peter 1:3-4His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

2 Peter 1:17-22 These men are springs without water and mists driven by a storm. Blackest darkness is reserved for them. 18For they mouth empty, boastful words and, by appealing to the lustful desires of sinful human nature, they entice people who are just escaping from those who live in error. 19They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity—for a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him. 20If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. 21It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them. 22Of them the proverbs are true: “A dog returns to its vomit,”and, “A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud.”

Observations:
Peter tells us that everything we need is available through Christ. By entering into Him, we can participate in the divine nature of Christ – our Lord and Savior. On the other hand, Satan tells us that if we follow him and do not obey God, we can become gods ourselves.

If I stop and think about this, I realize that participating in the divine is much better than a bazillion gods running around. As we’ve discovered in the United States, freedom and the pursuit of pleasure is a great thing – until it begins to invade other people’s space. My rights stop when your rights begin. So when we are all gods, we have limited rights, limited freedom, and limited divination. It is only through Christ that I have absolute freedom – and therefore unlimited life.

Application:
No matter how much freedom I think I gain by pursuing my own interests, I am really just boxing myself into a corner. In order to experience the abundant life (John 10:10), I have to truly experience God. In the beginning God told us that we could have anything in the Universe – except this one fruit of this one tree. Satan on the other hand told us that God was being stingy and keeping us from achieving our full potential. Satan focuses on what we can’t have (one thing) and God focuses on the abundance of His creation – all things.

When I follow God – I can have all things good. Which means I don’t need bad things.

Prayer:
Father God – I am silly, stooopid, and selfish (most of the time). Please forgive me for pursuing my own ways. Teach me to follow you. Teach me to NOT be double-minded and from pursuing two gods. Teach me to pursue you at all costs.

Thanks Lord!

gw

*****

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

