First Love – Always.

13 07 2007

Scripture:
Hebrews 10:32-39 (NIV) Remember those earlier days after you had received the light, when you stood your ground in a great contest in the face of suffering. 33Sometimes you were publicly exposed to insult and persecution; at other times you stood side by side with those who were so treated. 34You sympathized with those in prison and joyfully accepted the confiscation of your property, because you knew that you yourselves had better and lasting possessions.
35So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. 36You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. 37For in just a very little while, “He who is coming will come and will not delay. 38But my righteous one will live by faith. And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.” 39But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved.

Observations:
It is true. When we first discover the light of awakening through Christ we will do anything to persevere. Our whole life has been aroused from the deadness of mere existence and suddenly we have life, love, excitement, and joy.

But it is so easy to slip back into the slumber of sameness and mediocrity. Like feeling stood-up on a blind date. We began to take matters into our own hands and forget that we are awaiting for “the one” to show up. Will we be caught picking our nose when our date walks in the door?

We must live in faith that He is coming. We must not slip into mediocrity and slumber. We must keep that first-love experience alive – and well!

Application:
The best way for me to keep my marriage fresh and alive is to keep my focus on my wife. Some wonder how they can regain the spark, but in reality, they should never have allowed the flame to diminish. The same is true with my love relationship with Jesus.

To keep the flame alive with my wife I have to constantly romance her. This takes time – quality and quantity time. It takes focus. The same is true in my relationship with my God. I have to allow Him time to romance me – quality, quantity, and quiet time. As I give Him time – He bathes my soul with love, grace, and strength.

Like my Dad used to say. “I chased her until she caught me.” Am I chasing God? Am I letting Him catch me?

Prayer:
Jesus, save me from my indifference; Save me from my mediocrity; Save me from my cynicism, brokenness, and laziness.

Thank you God! I love you too!

*****

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

