Wisdom and Humilty

19 05 2006

Wisdom and Humilty

Scripture:
1 Kings 3:7-9 (NIV)  7 “Now, O LORD my God, you have made your servant king in place of my father David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties. 8 Your servant is here among the people you have chosen, a great people, too numerous to count or number. 9 So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

1 Kings 4:29-31 (NIV)  29 God gave Solomon wisdom and very great insight, and a breadth of understanding as measureless as the sand on the seashore. 30 Solomon’s wisdom was greater than the wisdom of all the men of the East, and greater than all the wisdom of Egypt. 31 He was wiser than any other man… And his fame spread to all the surrounding nations.

2 Thessalonians 3:13 (NIV) And as for you, brothers, never tire of doing what is right.


Observations:
David was not allowed to build the temple because he had been tainted by too much bloodshed.  Then Solomon, David’s son, came along and God asked him what he wanted/needed.  Solomon asked for wisdom.  With this, God was pleased.  He told Solomon, I’ll not only give you wisdom, but I’ll give you what you didn’t ask for, wealth.

Solomon was wiser than any other man and his decisions reflected that.  Much of that wisdom seems to come from humility.  He understood the huge task ahead of him and how nearly impossible it would be to overcome that.  But it wasn’t for himself, it was for “this great people of [God’s].”


Application:
I understand how complicated it is to lead people.  Some what me to meet everyone’s needs, others want me to manage, and still others want leadership.  Then there are those who want compassion and counseling.  My superiors want me to raise up a church, from scratch, and grow into a healthy, vibrant community of faith.

Some want me to be all things to all people, but the bottom line is that God made me to be who I am and I am unable to be all things to all people.  I know my strengths, I know my weaknesses, and I know my limitations.  All I can do is seek the Lord’s humility!


Prayer:
Father God, I am unable to lead this church – you need to do it!  Please give me the wisdom it takes!

Thanks God!  gw


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

