In God I Trust

10 05 2006

In God I Trust

Scripture:
2 Samuel 16:5 (NIV) 5 As King David approached Bahurim, a man from the same clan as Saul’s family came out from there. His name was Shimei son of Gera, and he cursed as he came out. 6 He pelted David and all the king’s officials with stones, though all the troops and the special guard were on David’s right and left. 7 As he cursed, Shimei said, “Get out, get out, you man of blood, you scoundrel! 8 The LORD has repaid you for all the blood you shed in the household of Saul, in whose place you have reigned. The LORD has handed the kingdom over to your son Absalom. You have come to ruin because you are a man of blood!”
9 Then Abishai son of Zeruiah said to the king, “Why should this dead dog curse my lord the king? Let me go over and cut off his head.”
10 But the king said, “What do you and I have in common, you sons of Zeruiah? If he is cursing because the LORD said to him, ‘Curse David,’ who can ask, ‘Why do you do this?’ ”
11 David then said to Abishai and all his officials, “My son, who is of my own flesh, is trying to take my life. How much more, then, this Benjamite! Leave him alone; let him curse, for the LORD has told him to. 12 It may be that the LORD will see my distress and repay me with good for the cursing I am receiving today.”


Psalm 56:1-6 (NIV) 1 Be merciful to me, O God,
       for men hotly pursue me;        all day long they press their attack.
 2 My slanderers pursue me all day long;        many are attacking me in their pride.
 3 When I am afraid,        I will trust in you.
 4 In God, whose word I praise,        in God I trust; I will not be afraid.        What can mortal man do to me?
 5 All day long they twist my words;        they are always plotting to harm me.
 6 They conspire, they lurk,        they watch my steps,        eager to take my life.



Observations:
Whenever someone tries to do something great – like David reuniting Israel, they are attacked.  For some reason, success breeds opposition.  Maybe it is like Newton’s theorem, “For every reaction there is an equal and opposite reaction.”  

But why is this?  Don’t people want to see success?  Do they not want to taste victory?  Are they not more concerned with others than themselves?  Why are people afraid of success?

What keeps people from moving out of the status quo and into a greater abundance?

Just a couple of days ago we read about David and his people leaving Jerusalem.  As they walked along the road a man through rocks at him and ridiculed him.  Instead of stopping him, or having him killed, David just said, “Maybe I deserve this.”

That is humility.


Application:
For the past several days I’ve felt like a warrior going to battle for God’s people.  There have been reconciliations, confrontations, healing and anointing, apologies received, baptisms, more healings, and confrontations against ignorance and faithlessness.  But it seems that as I have been in battle, some of the saints have been on the attack.  What a dichotomy that is.

So, my part, is to keep on the offensive against the gates of hell, but to humbly submit myself to Christ.  I am not to get cocky or arrogant, but I must continue to seek out God’s will on behalf of the people we are seeking to save.  I continue to pray for the people battling addiction, depression, illness, sin, ignorance, and faithlessness.  I continue to march forward, but ignoring the rock throwers – while still remaining mindful of my own propensity to fail, fall, or flounder.  Yes, maybe I deserve some of these rock throwers, most likely though, they aren’t worthy of paying attention to.  “Maybe the Lord will repay me for the cursing I am receiving.”


Prayer:
Father God, you are the one I will focus on.  You are the one I am seeking.  You are the one who gives me my marching orders.  It is you alone to whom I will listen.  Continue to strengthen me, give me courage, and lead me.  Keep me from straying.  Keep me from going a way I should not go.  Keep me from arrogance, ignorance, and ambivalence.

I love you too God!!

gw


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

