Impatient, Imprudent, Improper

12 04 2006

Impatient, Imprudent, and Improper

Scripture:
 I Samuel 13:11-14 (NIV) 11 “What have you done?” asked Samuel.
Saul replied, “When I saw that the men were scattering, and that you did not come at the set time, and that the Philistines were assembling at Micmash, 12 I thought, ‘Now the Philistines will come down against me at Gilgal, and I have not sought the Lord’s favor.’ So I felt compelled to offer the burnt offering.”
13 “You acted foolishly,” Samuel said. “You have not kept the command the LORD your God gave you; if you had, he would have established your kingdom over Israel for all time. 14 But now your kingdom will not endure; the LORD has sought out a man after his own heart and appointed him leader of his people, because you have not kept the Lord’s command.”


Observations:
Impetuous, impatient, improper – these are all the things of Saul in the above verse.  The Philistines were assembling for battle, and his own men were scattering.  Who wouldn’t be nervous?  Samuel was on the way and he told Saul when he’d arrive – but Saul’s troops dwindled down from about 3000 to 600.  This would be frightening to anyone.

When Samuel arrived, he chastised Saul for not waiting for him to come and offer the burnt offering.

This is so much like us that I can scarcely contain myself.  We get a vision of what needs to happen and we seek the Lord’s guidance.  God promises that He will see us through and we set out to accomplish what is before us.  Then, when God doesn’t deliver on our time schedule, we get impatient and imprudent – which leads us to improper acts.

Our disobedience, like Saul’s, is not the act – it is the timing.  Saul didn’t wait for the priest and we don’t wait for God.  Too often – waaaay too often – this is my issue.  Impatience.


Application:
I’m struggling with impatience now.  I want to move forward.  “Charge!”  I want to yell to the troops.  But God is telling me to wait.

Like the scene from the movie Braveheart, William Wallace and his men are waiting for the English to attack.  Even as they approach, he tells the men to wait.  “Hold…hold…Hold!…HOLD!!”  He shouts!  The timing has to be perfect or it will be in vain.

I feel God is telling me to wait.  Just do the right thing.  Don’t be impatient, imprudent, or improper.


Prayer:
Lord Jesus – here I am waiting, abide in me I pray.  Fill me with your spirit and give me the courage and strength to wait.

Amen.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

