Fragrant

3 04 2006

Fragrant

Scripture:

Judges 13-16

2 Corinthians 2:14-16 (NIV) 14But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. 15For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. 16To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life. And who is equal to such a task?

Psalm 89:1-2, 50-51 (NIV) 1 I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations. 2 I will declare that your love stands firm forever, that you established your faithfulness in heaven itself.

50 Remember, Lord, how your servant has been mocked, how I bear in my heart the taunts of all the nations, 51 the taunts with which your enemies have mocked, O LORD, with which they have mocked every step of your anointed one.

Observations:

First, I have to comment on Judges 13-16. This is the story of Samson. There are too many texts to quote individual ones and too much to read. (You may click on the link above to access the passages) But I have to say this story disturbs me.

The story of Samson is often told to children as a great example of God’s faithfulness. But, I have to say, I’m not quite sure why God was faithful to Samson – except for one reason: That is, that Samson was chosen by God before his birth. He definitely wasn’t perfect, but he was chosen.

I believe that when this story is told to children, this point is often overlooked. It wasn’t his strength, it wasn’t his long hair, and it certainly wasn’t because he was a good man. It has to be because he was chosen. Samson, slept with prostitutes, picked fights, and gave away his very strength to Delilah – a woman he loved, but a relationship that was purely dysfunctional.

This story tells me that being chosen by God is a big deal.

Then there is the message God asks us to share with others. That is that His love and character are incredible. But this message – the aroma of God – are not always pleasant to all people. To some, this is a stench and to others it is beautiful.

To those who cannot smell the beauty of God, it is the smell of death. And to those who don’t see the beauty, they are going to mock the messenger.

Application:

My role is to proclaim God’s fragrant message. It is not my responsibility to decide who receives it. And I have to expect mocking.

Prayer:

Father God, give me clarity of your message and help me to courageously proclaim it.

Fill me with that fragrance Lord.

gw

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

