Freedom and Love

23 03 2006

Freedom and Love

Scripture:
1 Corinthians 8:9 (NIV) Be careful, however, that the exercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak.


Observations:
Freedom is one of God’s highest values.  However, freedom only extends as far as the nose on my face.  Once my freedom inhibits another’s freedom, I must self-limit myself.  A higher value than freedom is to love my neighbor as much as I love myself – even more so.  That is, if I love my brother (and sister) more than I love myself, I will not do anything that causes discomfort to them – because I wouldn’t do anything to bring discomfort to ME.

This is a hard one for modern, 21st century people to hear and adhere to.

I believe this is what Paul is referring to, when he says in verse 2:  “The man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know.”

Application:
So, my goal is to for others first.  I don’t always know what I should know, but if I seek God’s wisdom, he’ll reveal it to me.

Freedom and love are inseparable.


Prayer:
Lord, reveal to me the things I should know.  Let me understand your ways better.  Especially today as I meet with _____ — give me words to say and help me to speak for you.

Thanks God.

gw

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

