Wise Use of Resources

15 03 2006

Wise Use of Resources

Scripture:
Deuteronomy 29:5 (NIV) During the forty years that I led you through the desert, your clothes did not wear out, nor did the sandals on your feet.

Galatians 6:9 (NIV) Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.


Observations:
I tend to look at the world in human terms.  I have this need to be concerned about finances and other resources.  I sometimes “worry” that we won’t have what we need to be happy and comfortable.  As far as the church goes, I tend to think we don’t have the resources or the staffing (paid or volunteer) to grow like we should.  

But as I read the above text from Deuteronomy, I am reminded that God is more powerful than mere materials and resources.  For forty years the Israelites wandered in the desert, but their clothes and sandals did not wear out.  They also had plenty to eat – even if they grew no crops or had any forests to hunt or fish.

God sustained my after I left my emergency services career.  I spent all my retirement savings, but He sustained me.  I was never hungry, I was never uncomfortable, and I was well provided for.  What makes me think He won’t provide in the future?

The key is found in the text from Galatians.  It is important to not weary – for God will provide in His proper time.  He always provides.  I have nothing to fear – if I don’t give up.


Application:
Right now I am very tired – burned out even.  The last three and a half years have been long ones, busy years, and extremely hard.  But the journey is not over.  All I need to do is rely upon Him.  Trust, obey, listen, persevere.


Prayer:
Dear God, last night the Core4 agreed with the plan to hire administrative support.  I am excited and challenged at the same time.  Excited because I see this freeing me up for the roles you have called me to – scared, because it means I have to learn, grow, and change.

Thank you for helping me to see the need.  Thank you for working with us, as a church, to invest in the future growth.  Thank you for answering my prayers for help!

Teach me to let go of things I don’t need to do.  Teach me to learn, to grow, and to delegate.

Thank you too God for releasing me to spend more time with my family.  Let me use that time wisely!

gw


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

