Glory

5 02 2006

Glory

Scripture:
Exodus 40:34,35  (NIV)  34 Then the cloud covered the Tent of Meeting, and the glory of the LORD filled the tabernacle. 35 Moses could not enter the Tent of Meeting because the cloud had settled upon it, and the glory of the LORD filled the tabernacle.

Psalm 15:1,2 (NIV) 1 LORD, who may dwell in your sanctuary?  Who may live on your holy hill?  2 He whose walk is blameless and who does what is righteous, who speaks the truth from his heart

Acts 12:11 (NIV)  11Then Peter came to himself and said, “Now I know without a doubt that the Lord sent his angel and rescued me from Herod’s clutches and from everything the Jewish people were anticipating.”

Observations:
When the portable tabernacle was completed by the new Jewish nations, the “glory of the Lord” filled it.  Even Moses could not enter.  Later, the Psalmist asks, “who may dwell in Your sanctuary?”  The answer is that only the blameless may dwell there – which explains why even Moses was not allowed.  Only God is blameless and only He is allowed.

In Acts, Peter is rescued from prison and this confirms in him the mission and calling God has placed on him.  Later, Herod dies because he doesn’t give glory to God.

What is the “glory of God?”

Application:
We live in a very casual culture.  I fit in well with this informality.  I’ve never really seen the authenticity of formality, pomp, and circumstance.  I prefer to be who I am, say what I feel, and behave with a transparency that exudes honesty and candor.  

I am not blameless, I am not holy, and I am not perfect.  Yet, as a pastor, the leader of a church, some expect me to be blameless, holy, and perfect.  Unfortunately, they are setting themselves up to be disappointed.

Later, Moses was able to enter the Tabernacle – even in God’s presence.  He wasn’t perfect, but after sacrifices had been offered, he was blameless.  I am not worthy of entering God’s presence.  I’m not perfect, but because of Jesus’ sacrifice for me, I am blameless.

Now, it is my job to honor that sacrifice and not disgrace it by living a life disconnected from God – or flaunting my sins.


Prayer:
Father God, I appreciate the investment you’ve made in me.  Please help me to honor you by living a life that glorifies you.  Magnify your glory through me.  gw

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

