Brotherhood

11 01 2006

Brotherhood

Scripture:
Genesis 27:41 (NIV)  41 Esau held a grudge against Jacob because of the blessing his father had given him. He said to himself, “The days of mourning for my father are near; then I will kill my brother Jacob.”

Observations:
The early days of earth’s history were filled with animosity of brother against brother.  So much hate that death often was the result.  Cain killed his brother Able.  And now, in the story noted above, Esau wants to kill Jacob.  How sad.

One of the goals my mother had from the very beginning is that my brother and I would be good friends.  She was a success!

Yesterday as we met with the hospice team taking care of her, the chaplain mentioned what a great job our mother did – for both of her sons to be pastors.  Actually, I believe that was more God’s doing – but, where she was successful is in helping Roger and I to be friends.  To that we owe our gratitude.

Application:
Abraham was told he would be the father of nations – but upon his death he was unable to see this.  In fact it wasn’t certain that his legacy would even continue – especially in light of the text above.

I want to continue the legacy my mother started – one of love, support, and brotherhood.  I want to do that in the church, in my home, and in my children.

Prayer:
Father God – thank you for my brother, my friend, and the legacy of solid relationships.  Please teach me to move forward with indifferent compassion.  Teach me to take my ego out of the process.  Teach me to let people move forward at their own pace.  Teach me to not push people.  Teach me to let people blossom.  Teach me to lead by example, not by driving them.

Forgive me Lord for the mistakes I’ve made in the process of leadership.

I love you too Lord!

gw

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

