Open the Eyes of My Heart

4 12 2005

Open the Eyes of My Heart

Scripture:
Romans 14:23 (NIV) everything that does not come from faith is sin.

Ephesians 1:17-22 (NIV) 17I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, 19and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength, 20which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, 21far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. 22And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

Observations:
It seems so obvious to me that we can know God’s will.  But to some this is an impossibility – or so out of the realm of probability that they don’t consider it a reality.  It’s not that I understand God as well as I could, or that I well perceive what He’s trying to tell me, it’s just that I see the reality of His speaking to me.

Why else would Paul pray for the eyes of our heart to be opened?  Why else would he tell us that anything outside of faith is sin?

So often we make decisions and move forward in our journeys without any concept of what God is trying to tell us – or what His will is.  This I believe is what Paul is talking about when he says that “everything that does not come from faith is sin.”

This is why Paul prays for our eyes to be opened.

Application:
For me then, I am encouraged to spend even more time in prayer, Bible meditation, and seeking God’s will.

Prayer:
Thanks Lord for another day!  Thanks for the awesome success of last night!  Thank you for such a great church that is willing to do such cool things and serve the public like we did last night.  It was great to see the smiles on people’s faces and to see their appreciation.

Teach me Lord to better hear your voice!

I love you too!

gw

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

